Whatcom Powers Dominate All-NWC Girls, Boys Teams

It’s no big surprise that after winning three state championships and taking second- and third-place trophies that Whatcom boys and girls dominated the all-Northwest Conference all-star teams announced by the league’s head coaches.

Class 1A state champion Nooksack Valley had two of the top honors on the girls side. Shane Wichers was named the head coach of the year, and junior Devin Coppinger was named the conference player of the year, both for the second year in a row.

Clare Martin of Bellingham was named the girls assistant coach of the year.

Be sure to check out Whatcom Hoops next week as we start the countdown of the top 30 boys and top 30 girls for the 2022-23 season. 

Whatcom Hoops March-7-2023
Bellingham’s Clare Martin was named NWC assistant coach of the year.

Joining Coppinger on the first team were her teammates senior Hallie Kamphouse and junior Lainey Kimball. Junior Tana Hoekema was named to the second team.

Class 1A state runner-up Lynden Christian had two players on the first team — senior Demi Dykstra and sophomore Grace Hintz — and senior Daisy Poag was named to the second team.

Other Whatcom girls named to the first team were senior Maddy Barter of Mount Baker, junior Madi Cooper of Sehome, and freshman Payton Mills of Lynden.

Named to the second team were seniors Avery Neal of Meridian, Ellie Ochoa of Ferndale, and Adia Newcomb of Lynden and juniors Haylee Koetje of Lynden, Mari Binning of Squalicum, and Emmy Hart of Sehome.

Also named to the first team were senior Camryn Kerr of Anacortes and sophomore Chesah Holmes of Class 2A runner-up Burlington-Edison. Named to the second team were junior Malia Garcia of Mount Vernon and senior Analise Slotemaker of Burlington-Edison.

On the boys side, Brett Senff and sophomore Davis Fogle of league champion Anacortes were named the coach of the year and player of the year, respectively. TJ Rice of Lakewood was the assistant coach of the year.

Making the first team were senior Coston Parcher and junior Anthony Canales of Class 2A state champion Lynden, senior Tyler Sipma and junior Jeremiah Wright of Class 1A state champion Lynden Christian, seniors Grant Kepley and Grey Garrison of Sehome, and senior Matt Russ of Blaine.

Earning second-team honors were senior Lucas Smith of Blaine, senior Ashton Engelhart of Squalicum, senior Mat Storms of Sehome, and sophomore Jaeger Fyfe of Meridian.

Also named to the first team were junior Quinn Swanson of Mount Vernon and senior Jacob Hayes of Anacortes. On the second team were seniors Blaine Granberg and Bennet Howe of Burlington-Edison, senior Mason Weller of Lakewood, senior Aliy’is Giles of Oak Harbor, senior Connor Cox of Sedro-Woolley, and senior Devari Davis of Mount Vernon.

Jim Carberry of Whatcom Hoops

Jim Carberry is a former Bellingham Herald sports editor and author of several books on Whatcom County prep basketball. Follow him on Twitter @whatcomhoops and visit the Whatcom Hoops Facebook page.

You can support our student-athletes, teams, and schools
by using the businesses that support Whatcom Hoops.

Want to advertise your business? Click here for advertising options.