Senior Classic To Feature Boys, Girls All-Stars This Friday

Whatcom Hoops fans will have one final opportunity to see some of their favorite high school players this Friday, March 10, when the annual Whatcom County Senior Classic returns to Lynden High School’s Jake Maberry Gymnasium.

The girls events begin at 6:15 p.m. with a 3-point contest followed by the girls all-star game. Then around 7:45 p.m., the boys will have their 3-point contest and a dunk contest with their game following.

Not only will you get to see some of the best players in the state — as proven in Yakima last weekend — but you’ll be able to see these seniors have fun playing with teammates for the last time and on the same team with some of their season-long rivals.

Be sure to check out Whatcom Hoops next week as we start the countdown of the top 30 boys and top 30 girls for the 2022-23 season. 

Our state championship teams will be well represented Friday night. Three members of Lynden’s Class 2A boys state title club will join four members of Lynden Christian’s Class 1A boys state title squad on the County Team.

Joining them on the County Team will be a member of Lummi Nation’s state squad as well as two players from Nooksack Valley and one each from Meridian and Mount Baker.

The boys City Team will have four players from Blaine’s third-place Class 1A state squad and four from Sehome’s state team. Squalicum will have a pair of players, and Bellingham and Ferndale will have one each on the team.

On the girls side, Class 1A state champion Nooksack Valley will have three representatives on the County Team and state runner-up Lynden Christian will have five players. They’ll be joined by one from Lynden’s state team and two from Meridian.

For the girls City Team, there will be four from Ferndale; two each from from Sehome’s state squad, Lummi Nation, and Mount Baker; and one each from Bellingham and Squalicum.

Players from Blaine Lynden, and Sehome also were selected but unable to participate.

Ticket prices are $6 for adults and $3 for children. ASB cards will not be accepted.



Ellie Wolverton (Bellingham)

Madi Butenschoen (Ferndale)

Cailyn Kessen (Ferndale)

Ashley Lang (Ferndale)

Ellie Ochoa (Ferndale)

Aliesha Solomon (Lummi Nation)

Raven Solomon (Lummi Nation)

Maddy Barter (Mount Baker)

Jojo Lindsey (Mount Baker)

Mac Cooper (Sehome)

Maddie Hogan (Sehome)

Callie McEachran (Squalicum)


Chloe Wittenberg (Lynden)

Reganne Arnold (Lynden Christian)

Demi Dykstra (Lynden Christian)

Alexie Hagen (Lynden Christian)

Taryn Herwerden (Lynden Christian)

Daisy Poag (Lynden Christian)

Maris Baklund (Meridian)

Avery Neal (Meridian)

Hallie Kamphouse (Nooksack Valley)

Taylor Lentz (Nooksack Valley)

Ella Perry (Nooksack Valley)

Selected but unable to participate: Shaelyn Shields (Blaine) and Adia Newcomb (Lynden)



Grayson Stone (Bellingham)

Ethan Koreski (Blaine)

Carson Lehnert (Blaine)

Matt Russ (Blaine)

Lucas Smith (Blaine)

Damian Toney (Ferndale)

Dane Dominguez (Sehome)

Grey Garrison (Sehome)

Grant Kepley (Sehome)

Isaac Lawrence (Sehome)

Ashton Engelhart (Squalicum)

Xander Sledge (Squalicum)


Richard Wilson (Lummi Nation)

Kobe Baar (Lynden)

Coston Parcher (Lynden)

Trey Smiley (Lynden)

Griffin Dykstra (Lynden Christian)

Lane Dykstra (Lynden Christian)

Tyler Sipma (Lynden Christian)

Dexter Zylstra (Lynden Christian)

Hunter Jones (Meridian)

Ethan Larson (Mount Baker)

Bennett DeLange (Nooksack Valley)

Ayden Roper (Nooksack Valley)

Selected but unable to participate: Mat Storms (Sehome)

Jim Carberry of Whatcom Hoops

Jim Carberry is a former Bellingham Herald sports editor and author of several books on Whatcom County prep basketball. Follow him on Twitter @whatcomhoops and visit the Whatcom Hoops Facebook page.

You can support our student-athletes, teams, and schools
by using the businesses that support Whatcom Hoops.

Want to advertise your business? Click here for advertising options.