Honoring The Best: Nooksack Girls, County’s Top 30 Players

After another historic high school basketball season that saw Whatcom teams win three state championships and three other state trophies, it’s time to honor the top players from our county starting with …

The Nooksack Valley girls, who swept the state awards at the Washington State Girls Basketball Coaches Association all-star event on Sunday, March 17.

Then starting on Tuesday, the top players from Whatcom County will be recognized by Whatcom Hoops. Here are the latest honors:

Coppinger, Kimball, Wichers Named State’s Best

Nooksack Valley’s Devin Coppinger showed why she was chosen as the WSGBCA’s Washington state player of the year by scoring 31 points for the Class 1A all-star team in Sunday’s 98-60 victory over the 2A team at King’s High in Seattle.

Coppinger’s teammate, Lainey Kimball, was named the 1A player of the year and their coach, Shane Wichers, was named coach of the year for all classifications after guiding the Pioneers to their second straight state title. The player awards for each classification were for seniors and all the awards were announced at halftime of the games.

Also playing for the 1A team were Nooksack Valley’s Tana Hoekema and Blaine’s Jordyn Vezzetti. Playing for the 1B team was Lummi Nation’s Serena Jo Pantalia.

The Washington Interscholastic Boys Coaches Association (WIBCA) announced its all-state awards earlier and had its senior all-star games on Saturday at Bellevue Community College.

Dawson Bouma of Lynden Christian was named the 1A player of the year after helping the Lyncs take third at state, and Lynden’s Anthony Canales was named the 2A co-player of the year along with Cade Orness of North Kitsap.

Brian Roper, who guided Lynden to its historic third Class 2A state championship in a row, was named the 2A coach of the year.

Chosen to play in the games were Canales, Bouma, Wyatt Stephan of Bellingham (2A), and Jeremiah Wright of Lynden Christian (1A).

 Whatcom Hoops’ Top 30 Starts Tuesday

Starting Tuesday and daily over the next month, Whatcom Hoops will recognize the best of the best as we count down from #30 to #1 for both the boys and girls.

But with so many outstanding players on our 22 teams, even the top 30 is not enough. So to start off our countdown, here are the honorable mentions for both the boys and the girls in alphabetical order. (And be sure to check out WhatcomHoops.com as the countdown begins Tuesday.)


Tony Abrams, junior, Lummi Nation

Conner Dalry, senior, Blaine

Colton Lentz, junior, Nooksack Valley

Braddock Duckworth, senior, Sehome

Ezra Nichols, junior, Squalicum

Lincoln Thomas, senior, Ferndale


Malia Hanks, junior, Bellingham

Malia McCauley, senior, Meridian

Maleah Singson, senior, Ferndale

Naomi Stanley, senior, Ferndale

Kylie Watson, senior, Sehome

Jenna Wineinger, senior, Mount Baker

You can support our student-athletes, teams, and schools by advertising your business on Whatcom Hoops. Click on WH Sponsor to learn more and sign up for the 2024-25 season.

Jim Carberry of Whatcom Hoops

Jim Carberry is a former Bellingham Herald sports editor and author of several books on Whatcom County prep basketball. Follow him on Twitter @whatcomhoops and visit the Whatcom Hoops Facebook page.

You can support our student-athletes, teams, and schools
by using the businesses that support Whatcom Hoops.

Want to advertise your business? Click here for advertising options.