Whatcom County Senior Classic To Feature Boys, Girls All-Stars This Friday

Basketball fans will have one final opportunity to see some of their favorites high school players this Friday, March 11, when the annual Whatcom County Senior Classic returns to Lynden High School’s Jake Maberry Gymnasium.

The girls event begin at 6:15 p.m. with a 3-point contest followed by the girls game. Then around 7:45 p.m., the boys will have their 3-point contest and a dunk contest with their game following.

Our state championship teams will be well represented Friday night. Two members of Lynden’s Class 2A boys state title club will join four members of Lynden Christian’s Class 1A boys state title squad on the County Team.

Joining them on the County Team will be four members of Blaine state team, and three players from Meridian’s and Nooksack Valley’s playoff teams.

The boys City Team will have two players from Lummi Nation’s fourth-place Class 1B squad and two members of Ferndale’s state squad. Squalicum will have the most players with five representatives, Mount Baker will have two, and Bellingham one.

On the girls side, Class 1A state champion Lynden Christian and state runner-up Nooksack Valley will have three players each and will be joined on the County Team by a member of Lynden’s state team and Lummi Nation’s playoff squad.

For the girls City Team, there will be three players from Meridian, two each from Blaine and Sehome, and one each from Bellingham and Mount Baker.

Coaching the all-star squads will be Ryan Dykstra (City girls), Helen Newcomb (County girls), Aaron and Adam Dickson (City boys), and Jerry Blankers (County boys).

Ticket prices are $6 for adults and $4 for children. ASB cards will not be accepted.



Mazy Wright (Bellingham)

Krystin Kamrath (Blaine)

Hailey Pike (Blaine)

Kadance Blankers (Meridian)

Ellie DeWaard (Meridian)

Skyleigh James (Meridian)

Taite Reardon (Mount Baker)

Ava Lunny (Sehome)

Maddie Schumacher (Sehome)


Jacynta Miles (Lummi Nation)

Claire DeVries (Lynden)

Charley Dykstra (Lynden Christian)

Lexi Kaptein (Lynden Christian)

Libby Stump (Lynden Christian)

Tehya Moore (Nooksack Valley)

Ellie Van Berkum (Nooksack Valley)

McKenna Wichers (Nooksack Valley)

Selected but unable to participate: Kaelee Bungard (Ferndale), Hannah Barlean (Ferndale), and Alli Van Kooten (Lynden Christian)



Thomas Mathews (Bellingham)

Jazen Guillory (Ferndale)

Mark Schlichting (Ferndale)

Luke Wells (Ferndale)

Tyran Lane (Lummi Nation)

Duncan Toby (Lummi Nation)

Davin Beason (Mount Baker)

Dravin Davis (Mount Baker)

Kaleb Hawkins (Squalicum)

Trevor Keeley (Squalicum)

Kai Posey (Squalicum)

Reed Richardson (Squalicum)

Leyton Smithson (Squalicum)


Scott Baldwin (Blaine)

Avery Dohner (Blaine)

Jaxon Kortlever (Blaine)

Cole Thomas (Blaine)

Dawson Adams (Lynden)

Jordan Medcalf (Lynden)

Crew Bosman (Lynden Christian)

William Colwell (Lynden Christian)

Jamison Hintz (Lynden Christian)

Andrew Hommes (Lynden Christian)

Owen Hughes (Meridian)

Daniel Short (Meridian)

Dawson Kimball (Nooksack Valley)

Selected but unable to participate: Sean Morrison (Ferndale), Jesse Sapp (Ferndale), Kaleo Jandoc (Lynden), Dane Beck (Meridian), Gavin Ortega (Sehome)

Jim Carberry of Whatcom Hoops

Jim Carberry is a former Bellingham Herald sports editor and author of several books on Whatcom County prep basketball. Follow him on Twitter @whatcomhoops and visit the Whatcom Hoops Facebook page.

You can support our student-athletes, teams, and schools
by using the businesses that support Whatcom Hoops.

Want to advertise your business? Click here for advertising options.