Whatcom Girls, Boys, Coaches Earn All-State Honors

Whatcom County basketball teams not only dominated the boys and girls state tournaments, but their players and coaches dominated the state’s end-of-the-season awards too.

Here’s the latest list of honors:


Lynden Christian senior Libby Stump collected several awards after leading the Lyncs to the state championship earlier this month, including being named tournament MVP by the media in Yakima as well as by prep websites Scorebook Live and Matt Evans Rankings.

In addition, she was chosen as the Washington State Girls Basketball Coaches Association (WSGBCA) Class 1A senior player of the year. It was the fourth straight time a Lynden Christian senior has earned that award.

Stump also was named by Scorebook Live as its Class 1A player of the year and was named to the second five for its all-classifications all-state girls teams.

She also was picked to play in two prestigious all-star games involving Washington state seniors. On March 19, she had 20 points, including four 3-pointers, to lead the Class 1A girls in their 94-84 loss to the Class 2A seniors in the WSGBCA all-star series.

She also was asked to play in the WAVOR all-star game (formerly the Northwest Shootout), which pits the top seniors from Washington against the top seniors from Oregon on April 3.

Nooksack Valley sophomore Devin Coppinger, who led the Pioneers to a runner-up finish in Yakima, also was chosen to the Class 1A state all-tournament first team by the media, Scorebook Live, and Matt Evans.

Coppinger joined Stump on the SB Live Class 1A all-state first team. Named to the all-state second team were Coppinger’s teammate, junior Hallie Kamphouse, and Stump’s teammate, freshman Grace Hintz.

Hintz also was named to the state all-tournament first team by the media and SB Live and to the second team by Matt Evans. Kamphouse also was chosen to the all-tournament second team by the media and SB Live and was an honorable mention choice by Matt Evans.


Another Lynden Christian senior, Andrew Hommes, led the Lyncs to the Class 1A boys state championship in early March and was named the tournament MVP by the media, Brooks Scouting Report, and Matt Evans.

In addition, Hommes was picked by SB Live to its 1A all-state first team and chosen to play in the Washington Interscholastic Basketball Coaches Association (WIBCA) all-star series on March 19. He had 7 points in the 1A boys’ 109-99 victory over the 2A boys.

Hommes’s teammate, junior Tyler Sipma, also earned several honors, including being named to SB Live’s Class 1A all-state second team. For his efforts in Yakima, he was named to the state all-tournament second team by the media and SB Live and was an honorable mention all-tournament choice by Brooks Scouting Service and Matt Evans.


Lynden sophomore Anthony Canales and senior Jordan Medcalf picked up several awards after guiding the Lions to the Class 2A state title. Both were named to the SB Live Class 2A all-state first team and their coach, Brian Roper, was named the 2A coach of the year.

Canales also was named the state tournament MVP by the media, SB Live, and Matt Evans, and to the all-tournament first team by Brooks.

Medcalf was named all-tournament first team by the media and SB Live and honorable mention by Matt Evans and Brooks. Sehome senior Gavin Ortega also was an honorable mention choice by Brooks. 

Medcalf also was chosen for the WIBCA all-star series and had 7 points for the 2A team in its 109-99 loss to the 1A all-stars.


After finishing fourth in the Class 1B state tournament, the Lummi Nation boys earned a number of postseason honors.

Senior Tyran Lane was named the tournament MVP by Matt Evans and to the SB Live all-tournament first team. Fellow senior Duncan Toby was named to the Evans Rankings all-tournament first team and the SB Live all-tournament second team. Eighth-grader Jerome Toby Jr. was an honorable mention pick by Evans Rankings.

The all-Northwest 1B League also honored several Blackhawks. Lane was named the player of the year and joined Toby on the first team. Sophomore Tobias Francis was named to the second team, and Jerome Toby was named the coach of the year.

Jim Carberry of Whatcom Hoops

Jim Carberry is a former Bellingham Herald sports editor and author of several books on Whatcom County prep basketball. Follow him on Twitter @whatcomhoops and visit the Whatcom Hoops Facebook page.

You can support our student-athletes, teams, and schools
by using the businesses that support Whatcom Hoops.

Want to advertise your business? Click here for advertising options.